Being Kind To Myself

 

pretty-woman-1509956__340.jpg

Looking into the mirror was slightly shocking, the dark circles etched under my eyes was the spokesperson for how tired I truly felt, for how tired I’m still feeling. I came home exhausted from books, note taking and exams and my mind felt like it was degenerating .On one hand it was pleading for mercy, for I to relax but on the other hand my mind was like an automatic, whirling machine which simply couldn’t stop working, couldn’t stop calculating, couldn’t stop worrying. “My gosh, I’m emotionally draining myself, ” I thought.

That thought passed away, after half an hour or so of doing the dishes, but then it came back to me as I stood in my room, and old white headphone stood there staring at me and my phone by its side. It seemed like an invitation. I had meant to throw that  old headphone away, but somehow I never got to, and in this very moment of a  wave of happiness for not doing so rushed through me. Slowly picking them up, excitement began to grow, “Should I or should I not_______

“You’re a kid,” I retorted to myself plaintively, “You’re a kid, no matter how grown up you feel you’re a child, don’t lose your childhood,”

And so I commenced to dance insanely, my body slowly commencing to conjoin with the  rhythm of the music. The tempo of the music commenced diffusing into my blood, coursing its way inside my veins, rushing, rushing ever so frantically, childlike, and sophisticated all at the same time.

At the end of it I was red faced, sweating, exhausted. But it felt glorious.

We all need to unleash the kid in ourselves.

 

P.S: Once more, this was part of  Liz C project A December to Remember. Why not be kind to yourself, and check out her blog?

13 thoughts on “Being Kind To Myself

  1. Pikachu101 says:

    Hey, Heyitsnyse (get it?) Sometimes, it is true. We all make our lives harder by being unkind to ourselves. I, for example, was forcing to do my homework, not even realizing how tired I really was after completing an intensive assignment just earlier. In the end, I just did 4 pages. That message really helped me, so thank you, Nyse. I will check Liz’s blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nyse says:

      Hey, Pikachu101 (get it, it’s not a joke). Okay lame jokes(?) aside thanks for the comment, yes homework can be harder than slaying dragons sometimes which is why we must be kind to ourselves. And thanks for decided to check out Liz C, she’s awesome!

      Like

  2. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    Nice post! I haven’t seen you around in a while, how have you been? It’s important to take some time to be silly and happy to dust off the wear and tear of daily living. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Tiana says:

    This is everything that I ever needed. The most glorious of times is when you let go and expend the childlike energy hidden inside you. It is liberating and it gives a little more light and happiness during trying times. Beautiful post. 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nyse says:

      Thank you ever so much for the beautiful comment Tiana! Yes, when we unleash the child inside of us it’s so sensational. Thanks once more for the remarkable comment written, your posts are beautiful too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

